This department is established in the year 1961. Before this, Philosophy has been a subject at the Graduation Level. Bharat Ratna Dr. Bhagwandas (the first Vice Chancellor of this University) was the first teacher who taught Philosophy here.

Dr. Smpurnanand, Acharya Narendra Dev, Prof. Raja Ram Shastri, Shri Gopal Shastri, Shri Viswanath Anant Keshkar and Shri Ram Dev also taught Philosophy in this department.